Money Monster

3.5 out of 5 stars

A number of things stand out for me while watching this enjoyable, entertaining thriller. Jodie Foster knows her pacing and can direct very well. More often than not, the script is smart enough to confront and then bypass clichés and keeps sentimentality in check – even until its bitter end. And surprisingly, after the first few scenes, I was able to forget that I am watching George Clooney and Julia Roberts and I was totally invested in Lee Gates and Patty Fenn, though admittedly more the former than the latter. The film script has the DNA of 70s classics such as Network and Dog Day Afternoon and for the most part, keeps things moving briskly along to gloss over any narrative contrivances and artificiality . And even though the third act does somewhat beggar belief, I still like the film as one of those worthy Hollywood films with a message, it’s just a shame that there are other films recently which have covered similar territory in better and more sophisticated manners.

3 thoughts on “Money Monster

  1. Ralph

    Dear critique,
    Great write-up. Please be complete and tell us what films you are thinking of when you write: “it’s just a shame that there are other films recently which have covered similar territory in better and more sophisticated manners”! In general, your critiques are quite sophisticated. Stay with it. Thanks

    Like

    1. Patron Wong

      Hi Ralph and thank you for reading our reviews! Sorry for the lateness of my reply. The weather has been particularly nice where I am so I wasnt writing as much as I’d like. I would have thought the reference is obvious: I had The Big Short in mind when I wrote that but also, going back a little more, films such as The Wolf of Wall Street, Wall Street of course and Margin Call which I would recommend you check out if you have not.

      Like

  2. Finally caught up with this on Now TV. Hey you can’t catch everything in the cinema.
    Good direction and star quality carry this, but the script is paper thin and on examination full of holes.
    A nice Sunday evening watch though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

